PS4 Pro – Unboxing

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I didn’t really have any reason to move to the Pro.
That was until I started getting my PS4 discs ejected.

For a few months, I ignored the issue, but eventually it got to me.
I tried tightening the Manual Eject screw.
I tried cleaning whatever dirt was clogging up the HDD tray…

Speaking of the HDD, I found myself struggling to make space for
whatever new game I’d purchase. The 500GB limit was something else.

After frequent issues and a bit of thought, I decided to spend the cash on a PS4 Pro.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A little late to the party, but I’m not fussed.

Having purchased it over the weekend, I quickly took some snaps before I would eventually transfer the data from the original PS4 over to the Pro.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

First, the accessories.

  • Micro-USB cable
  • HDMI cable
  • Headset
  • Quick Start Guide
  • Dual Shock 4
  • Power cable

Nothing special here, except maybe the DS4.
An updated look. In a lighter black/grey with flat/matte grey buttons it seems.
I’ve chosen to keep this one fresh until my existing set of 20th Anniv. controllers are beat.

Oh, and notice the “Kettle Head” power cable.
Unlike the original PS4’s “Figure-8” cable, the Pro uses power cable similar to what’s used for PC PSUs.

em10_004_190217

The console itself.

Looking like some sort of triple-layered cake?
Can’t say I’m particularly fond of the look, but at least it’s no brick of an XBONE S.
I actually prefer the look of the PS4 Slim, but I guess the extra layer = more horsepower.

What’s important is the change in the power/eject buttons.
They are no longer touch-sensitive. Mechanical buttons are used this time.
More reliable I imagine, and hopefully won’t cause issues like the original PS4 did.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

From the rear, we have the following ports:

  • Power Port
  • HDMI Port
  • AUX Port (for Playstation Camera)
  • Optical Audio Port (not found on the PS4 Slim)
  • USB 3.0 Port
  • LAN Port

Again, nothing mind blowing but the third USB port might come in handy.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The rubber feet on the bottom of the console remind me of the details found on the PSVR.

I think that covers pretty much all angles of the PS4 Pro.
All that’s left to do is to play the thing!

FFXV might be worth picking up now that I can play it @ 60fps. Heh.
Oh, and a 4K TV too…

– Dust

One thought on “PS4 Pro – Unboxing

Leave a Reply

