SFG & Friends @ EB Games Expo 2015 – Part 1

ebexpo15

It’s been a week since this year’s EB Games Expo has passed and I thought I’d share what I consider a good excuse to bring some close friends together and do some freebie laps around the Sydney Showground!…

…and to take in all things gaming that was showcased of course.

Friday Daylight

Originally, I had planned on only attending the Saturday Twilight Session but a couple days beforehand, word around the Australian FGC (Fighting Game Community) was the possibility of a Street Fighter V tournament taking place at the Playstation booth. In order to secure a spot, I immediately decided to attend the opening Friday Daylight session.

Unfortunately, I did not have the privilege of attending as a qualified eSports competitor/exhibitor unlike the years prior to the 2014 convention, so it was out of my pocket, but well worth it.

Come Friday early morning, I drove to the event, war-ready – straight to Street Fighter V at the Playstation Booth for me. Luckily, I was the first to register for the tournament and managed to sneak in some casual games for about an hour prior to the tournament commencement.

***Before I go any further, I’m going to have to hold out on the details of my overall tournament experience and additional thoughts on Street Fighter V. Details to be featured in a future blog post! Please await the results!***

Continuing on…

Casual stations for Street Fighter V
Casual stations for Street Fighter V

I did manage to play some other games with Need for Speed being my top pick. Considering myself lucky, I scored a tee after placing above the other players during the 10 minutes I had with the game… but for the most part, it was all business for me – the Street Fighter V tournament.

Unfortunately, direct screen photos were prohibited, so here's the UDOORI 180SX displayed at the booth
Unfortunately, direct screen photos were prohibited, so here’s the UDOORI 180SX displayed at the NFS booth

Additionally, I had a younger family friend accompany me during the Friday Daylight session, as he had no previous EB Expo experience, so I thought it would be a cool experience for him.

Funnily enough, with him being under the age of 18, he wasn’t able to play what he wanted like Rainbow Six Siege, CoD BOPS3, and whatever else teenagers are into these days… but he enjoyed himself regardless.

Between the both of us, we managed to score some additional freebies, with the majority coming from gaming peripheral booths such as Logitech and Roccat, as well as posters and trinkets from Warner Bros, Hearthstone, Origin, and more exhibitors.

Logitech booth - had a Top Gear style lap time competition for a Logitech G29 steering wheel. Fastest on Bathurst (not me) wins.
Logitech booth – peep the Project CARS Bathurst hot lap competition with Logitech G29 steering wheel to the winner.

The Friday session was a bit of a blur as a lot of my time was spent at the Playstation Booth, getting as much casual play for Street Fighter V as I could between tournament matches.

Without anything else to add to my Friday Daylight session experience, best to cut it short and save the finer details for Part 2!

– Dustin

3 thoughts on “SFG & Friends @ EB Games Expo 2015 – Part 1

Leave a Reply

